WPN Announces Winners of 2015 SA Women in Property Awards

This prestigious event was proudly sponsored by Airports Company South Africa (ACSA), with the awards sponsored by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS). The awards were a collaborative platform dedicated to recognizing outstanding leadership, inspiration, vision and innovation in organisations that have stepped up and shaped women’s roles within the private and public sectors.

“The award categories reflect a wide spectrum of work these deserving women from the public and private sectors are involved in. This includes CEO’s, executives and leaders in corporate South Africa, SMME’s, government departments and agencies, as well as entrepreneurs,” says Sandi Mbutuma, WPN Executive, Marketing and Advocacy.

The following nominees were recognized in their respective award categories:

YOUNG ACHIEVER AWARD (under 35 years old)
Jacqueline Bisschoff, Operations Director, UAS
Shevira Bissessor, Executive, AECOM
Nina Dube, Chief Credit Officer, Commercial Property Finance, Barclays Africa
Nompumelelo Lukhele, Project Manager, Spar South Rand
Nikiwe Mkhabela, Asset Manager, Stanlib

The winner in this category was Nina Dube, who was recognised for the significant role that she plays within Barclays Africa (ABSA), and who in a short space of time has moved through the ranks to fulfill an often difficult and challenging position.
Also in this category, an honourable mention was made of Nikiwe Mkhabela of Stanlib who was acknowledged for the 2014 Stanlib achiever award and for recognition that she has received by her peers.

Nkuli Bogopa, Group Property Manager, Rio Tinto
Kim Faclier, Managing Director Property, GoIndustry DoveBId SA
Sibongile Manganyi, Managing Director, Indigo Kulani Group
Zola Ntwasa, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Jade Capital Partners

The nominations in this category was cause for much healthy debate amongst the judges, as the women nominated were all strong candidates from varied backgrounds that have made a contribution to the industry. The final consensus was that Zola Ntwasa of Jade Capital Partners be recognized as the winner as a result of her passion for the industry, involvement in various industry initiatives over the years, and that she is well networked and respected.

Yondele Silimela, Executive Director, Development Planning City of Johannesburg
Lebogang Shole, Head Facilities Management, Public Investment Corporation

In this category, Yondela Silimela was recognised for her senior role within the planning department at the City of Johannesburg.

Also at the gala dinner, two special recognition awards were announced which acknowledged significant contributions by dynamic, passionate women whose efforts have transformed and inspired the sector. These awards were made to Bronwyn Corbett, COO and CIO of Delta Property Fund and CEO of Delta Africa, and to Jackie van Niekerk, Managing Director, Pivotal Fund Limited.

The awards were adjudicated by a panel of judges, which was represented by a broad spectrum of disciplines from the industry and included:
TC Chetty – Country Manager: RICS South Africa and Chief Executive, TC Chetty and Associates (TCAA).
Marius Muller – Chief Executive Officer, Pareto Ltd
Genevieve Naidoo – Head of Real Estate Valuations & Project Management, SA & Rest of Africa, Standard Bank CIB, and WPN Chair
Nomzamo Radebe – CEO JHI Properties